Today V came running to me saying “money, money.” I didn’t even know she knew that word! I was even more surprised when she gave me a nickel. Wow! She must have found it on the floor. Pretty smart.

For the past week I’ve been working on a little project of making “coins” out of wooden discs. I had the idea that I wanted to paint the different numerations different colors. Here’s how they turned out.

I like them but I’m still thinking about ways I could make them better. The wooden discs alone are very nice and it’s a bit of a shame to cover up the natural wood color with bright paint.

I bought the wooden discs and coin stamps online, and love them. The engravings are of a good quality and should last a long time. I made a lot of extra. What am I going to do with them? Sell them on Etsy, eventually.

