After reading my latest blog posts on what’s been going on in my and V’s world, my mom told me that I’m a good mom. She sounded relieved, reminding me that when I was little I’d spank my doll frequently and I chopped its hair off.

Poor Mary. That was my doll. I remember her. After a short google search, I found her, on eBay of course.

Her name is actually “Ann”. I never knew that. She’s something called a “lap doll”, made by Fisher Price in 1973. This one looks quite nice. The body of mine got quite bunched after going through the wash so many times. And the hair of my Mary was cut unattractively — by me, I guess. A lot of hair fell out, too. Again, probably the washing machine (and maybe the stress of being my doll).

I wonder if Mary is still in my parents’ house somewhere. Maybe I’ll have to look for her the next time I go home. Still, I’m not sure what I’d feel if I saw her again. Probably guilt that I didn’t treat her better. And maybe too, some relief that I turned out to be a better mother in real life than I was to Mary.

