This is a pretty nice recipe because it’s simple (I usually have all the ingredients in my pantry, and you can mix it all by hand) and yet has such a rich taste of chocolate.

  • 3 cups flour
  • 2 cups sugar
  • 1/2 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 2 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 2 cups hot water
  • 3/4 cup oil
  • 2 tbsp white vinegar
  • 1 tbsp instant coffee
  • 1 tbsp vanilla extract

Butter two 8 inch cake pans.

Blend the flour, sugar, cocoa, baking soda, and salt in a large bowl.

In a large cup combine the water, oil, coffee, and vanilla. Add to the dry ingredients and whisk until combined.

Bake at 350F for 35 to 45 minutes until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean.

I really don’t have a specific recipe for chocolate frosting. I make it by combining cocoa powder (maybe a cup), with powdered sugar (maybe 2 cups?), and then adding whole milk and blending until all the dry ingredients are incorporated into a creamy mix. I add about a tablespoon of melted butter to make it shiny and smooth. I keep adding sugar until I like the taste — not too bitter. That’s it.

