My nephew is getting this in the mail. It’s already on the way.

I found this idea by Jody Kahn in her book called Simply Sublime Gifts. Since I happen to have a few Star Wars comic books from a find at a used book sale, 25 cents each, I liked the idea of making something out of a few pages.

In Jody’s directions, she suggests laminating the paper with an iron-on vinyl. I didn’t want to go out and buy anything so I decided I would use heavy packing tape. The clear kind. It worked perfectly.

The directions also call for using your sewing machine to bind the edges. I also added a seem down the middle but taking care not to sew the bill section closed. That was bit tricky but nothing insurmountable.

If his brother wants one for his birthday that will be easy to do. I’ll probably have to find a comic of Spiderman though.

